Saved requests
This page describes how to work with Saved requests in Advanced REST Client
This documentation is for ARC version 16 and up.
We are planning to remove Saved requests from the application in version 18. All Saved requests that are not a part of a project will be merged into single ARC project. Though, you won't loose your data there will be no option to store a single request in the application.
The concept of a Saved request has been incorporated into the application from its first release in 2011. It allows you to specify an HTTP request object, name it, and store it in a separate data store. A saved request is not a part of a project or an API by default. However, you can add the Saved request to a project. Such a request will be visible in both Saved requests and in the project. From the data perspective a project is just additional metadata over a set of Saved requests (like order, name, and description).

Saving a request

To save a request use one of the following methods:
  • Focus on the request editor (any part of the HTTP editor) and press ctrl + s on Windows and Linux or cmd + s on mac OS for quick save
  • Focus on the request editor and press ctrl + shift + s on Windows and Linux or cmd + shift + s on mac OS for the "save as.." action
  • Click on the context menu to the right from the URL editor as select either "Save" or "Save as.."
  • From the top application menu select File and the either Save or Save as...

Quick save

The quick save option instantly stores the current state of the request to the data store, when the request is already stored as Saved request. If the request is not yet stored in the data store or if this is a History request then the quick save acts as Save as action.

Save as

The save as action always opens the save request dialog. In this dialog you can add a name to the request, add it to an existing or a new project, and add optional description to the request.
Save as.. dialog in Advanced REST Client
After saving a request it is stored in the Saved menu.
Saved requests menu in Advanced REST Client
From this menu you can click on the item to open it in the workspace. If the request is already in the workspace but not visible then this make the request tab visible again. Similarly to the history request, you can drag and drop the request onto the workspace tabs to position the request in a specific place.

Saved menu options

Just like history menu, the Saved menu has context menu next to the title where you can perform additional tasks.
Context menu in the saved requests
The refresh action clears the current list and loads the data from the data store. You don't really have to use this option as when a saved object is changed the list automatically updates the list of requests.
The detach option allows you to open the saved menu in a new window separated from the main application window. You can also detach the entire menu to a new window from the menu Window > Popup application menu.
The Saved menu is a simplified view for your convenience. You can open the All Saved screen for additional options. See below for more details.
The export all option opens the export dialog asking you where to store the data. Currently, only save to file and save to Google Drive is accepted. After confirming export options it exports all saved requests to selected destination. It is exported as ARC export object defined as ExportArcSavedRequest.
The delete all options removes all Saved requests from the data store. When you select this option a confirmation dialog appears. After you confirm the operation it can't be undone. Make sure to create a backup export before removing the data.

The road map for Saved requests

Saved requests planned to be removed in version 18 release (somewhere in the second part of 2021). All requests that are not part of a project will be automatically transferred to a "default" project. You can discuss the planned change in this ticket.
Last modified 9mo ago