Application history
This page describes how to work with HTTP requests history in Advanced REST Client
This documentation is for ARC version 16 and up.
By default when you make an HTTP request the application stores the request and the response data in internal history. This allows you quickly recall past request from the history menu. You can disable history in application settings.
History menu in Advanced REST Client
An entry in the history menu is created once per day per the URL and the operation (HTTP method). This means that if you make a request to an endpoint that has the same URL and HTTP method multiple times then only a single entry in the history is created. After midnight a new entry for that day is created for the same request.

Drag and drop

List items in the history menu can be dragged to the request workspace (to the right of the menu) and dropped in the tabs area. The request is then opened in the place were it was dropped. Additionally, from the history menu you can drag and drop a request to "saved" requests menu and to a project. When dropping a request onto saved list or a project a new request object is created. It has a default name. You can update the name at any time in the request details.

History menu options

Next to the history menu title you can open the context menu with additional options.
History menu context actions
The refresh action clears the current list and loads the data from the data store. You don't really have to use this option as when a history object is added or removed from the data store, the list automatically updates the list of requests.
The detach option allows you to open the history menu in a new window separated from the main application window. You can also detach the entire menu to a new window from the menu Window > Popup application menu.
History menu is a simplified view for your convenience. You can open the All history screen for additional options. See below for more details.
The export all option opens the export dialog asking you where to store the data. Currently, only save to file and save to Google Drive is accepted. After confirming export options it exports all history requests to selected destination. It is exported as ARC export object defined as ExportArcHistoryRequest.
The delete all options removes all history from the data store. When you select this option a confirmation dialog appears. After you confirm the operation it can't be undone. Make sure to create a backup export before removing the data.

History screen

History screen view in Advanced REST Client
The history screen is an extended version of the history menu. From this screen you can filter history data, select any of them and either export them in the ARC export format or delete them. When deleting data a confirmation dialog is opened. After confirming data removal the operation is final. Make sure you make a backup first.

Upcoming history features

In version 17 (planned release) we plan to utilize the history data collected by the application. The new response view will get a new panel with a list of history response made to the same endpoint and operation (HTTP method). This was you can inspect how responses were changing in the past. You can discuss shape of this feature in this issue report.
Last modified 9mo ago