By default, the application automatically downloads the next stable release of the application and installs it when you close and open the application again. You can control this behavior by toggling the options in the About screen. When you disable the "Automatically download and install updated" the application won't install updates automatically. However, it will check for updates in the background and will notify you about a new version. You will have to install the update manually.